My trip to Iowa. 58 days left.





So today was the trip to Iowa with my parents and daughter to see my grandpa (my dad’s dad) who is losing his battle with cancer.

Grandpa Wayne has also been on crutches since I have known him. He contracted polio at the age of 23 but hasn’t let it hold him back from living his life. Over the years he not only fathered three children (who have given him 8 grandchildren and 11 great grandchildren so far), but he also has been a brother, a husband, and had a career as a teacher, worked as a truck driver, served on the board of directors for an iowa telephone company, and was an avid camper. Cancer has affected his life, but also mine and both of my parents. My mom lost her mother about 6 years ago, and my father had a battle with bladder cancer. It is a tough thing to experience, and a difficult thing to watch other people experience. My grandpa may not make it through another year, but after talking with him today, I know his memory will live on in the hearts of many.

I got a few donations today, and also a few of our first letters!

Here they are:
I met my husband while living in Kansas. I was a nurse and was just finishing up my shift, when I was asked to assist the doctor with a man who needed stitches in his arm. When I got into the room, I saw a filthy farmhand who also smelled like a farmhand. He didn’t say a word as I watched the doctor put the five stitches in his arm, but offered a polite, “I appreciate it” as he left. Three weeks went by, and as I just finished another shift, I walked out of the doctor’s office, a handsome man approached me. Upon closer inspection, I realized it was the same man I’d watched the doctor stitch up. He’d cleaned himself up a bit and had brought me flowers. After some conversation, we went on a date and spent the next 20 years together, until he died 3 years ago from esophagal cancer. I have loved him all along, so after hearing about this site from a friend in Illinois, I am donating $5 for your love. It is a powerful, wonderful thing, and I hope you two share a lifetime of happiness. I am also donating another $5 for the memory of my husband Jim, the love of my life.

Brenda-South Carolina

I am donating 1$ because I think if you love this woman like you say you do, she’s awfully lucky to have you. Wish there were more people out there like you.

Ann- North Dakota

I am donating 1$ because I think the fact that your friend made a heart from an engine block is an awesome way to show your love.

Jason-Austin MN

And a big thanks to Darin from South Dakota who donated $50!

Thank you so much for donating. I would also like to ask everyone else out there to donate $1 and also tell your friends about this site. While the ring is important to me, there is a greater good here, and I hope to achieve that goal. You can all help for just 1$.

I posted a few pics of the trip above..those are on the way down to Iowa in and around Faribault.

