And the bottom drops out.

First and foremost, thank you for the pile of emails showing support and wishing me well. The breakup came as a huge surprise to me and many of those around me. I harbor no hard feelings toward Tracy and wish her the best.

That said, I have decided to move forward with my goal of donating to the American Cancer Society and readers are welcome to donate whatever they wish at any time.

The blog format is also changing, though the address will remain the same. The reason the address remains the same is simple..none of this would ever have started without the love I had, so to change the address is wiping out the inspiration I had in the first place.

Going forward, the blog will chronicle my life, my “unlucky in love”
adventures, as well as be a forum to answer any relationship questions
people may have.

In fact, Dana in Missouri wrote in and donated 1$. Thanks to Dana for writing in and donating our first dollar in a few days, even after the breakup.

Dana wrote:
I am sorry to hear about your loss Sean. I have just gone through a similar situation. I’d been dating a woman named Sara for two years and we just recently split up because she “was no longer in love with me.”. I
don’t see how that can just turn off like a switch. I am hurt and upset..aren’t you with your girlfriend??


Hang in there man. Know there are more of us in the Broken Heart Club.

Dana, here is my response:

No I am not upset. I am hurt and I feel sad, but I believe strongly in a quote from a Tom Hanks movie that says, “And I know what I have to do now. I gotta keep breathing. Because tomorrow the sun will rise. Who knows what the tide could bring?

The point is, is that we go on. Life has to continue and we still have our daily lives to attend to. We enter relationships wanting to make someone happy, but if we exhaust our resources and fail to do that, then it’s time to let them find out how they can be happy. You haven’t failed..you’ve done exactly what you set out to do.

You may inadvertently stumble across the love of your life just a few days
later, or Sara may decide she can’t live without you as well. In either case, you can’t dwell on what did or what may to happen, you can only move on and see what “the tide may bring” into your life. I love my ex-girlfriend more than anything, and I’d love for her to come back into my life, but I have to live my life until the day that happens.

Another quote I like is from a Steve Martin movie that says, “Why is it that we don’t always recognize the moment when love begins but we always know when it ends?” A true statement, indeed, but also a warning from me for anyone ending a relationship to make sure you give closure. It may not be good news and instant friendship, but leaving someone hanging is like leaving an open wound. Not cool. If it has ended, make sure both sides understand that and move on.

So, there is the end of my first single blog. We got a donation, I got to give some advice, and things are looking up. The sun is actually rising right over the trees outside my window. It’s going to be a good day.

