Health…how healthy are you really?

Being healthy is more than just eating right and exercising. It’s about taking care of your body. Part of that care is making sure you are disease free. The Minnesota AIDS walk is coming up on May 17, 2009, and I encourage you to all take part. I’m going, as I do every year, and I hope to see you there. I’d also ask that if you’re sexually active, you get tested yearly. Your life is worth the cost.

It’s a fun event and you’ll learn more facts about AIDS, such as:

In the US, African American males account for almost 50% of AIDS diagnoses every year since 2004.

HIV prevalence has also been declining in four states in India.

An estimated 38.6 million [33.4 million-46.0 million] people worldwide were living with HIV at the end of 2005.

I’d also like you to take a look at this Facebook post by my friend Laura.

http://www.facebook.com/home.php?#/note.php?note_id=107729161144&comments

It’s about being healthy and it goes hand in hand with getting tested, but it’s for a different reason. She and I worked with a wonderful woman named Tawn Mastrey who passed away from Hepatitis a while back. She is missed tremendously, and if you get tested for Hep, you’ll be doing yourself and your partner a favor. Read the post and make sure you can REALLY say you’re healthy.

