Jim

Brad Pitt has been stuffing the Twinkies.
(A fictional picture from Freakingnews.com..please don’t sue me Mr. Pitt..)

Jim from Somewhere? wrote..

Sean,

Let’s talk more about getting motivated to workout. I have put on quite a bit of weight since high school and I just don’t feel attractive anymore. I am recently divorced and looking to get back out into the dating scene, but I just don’t feel comfortable with how I look. I try to go to the gym, but it just seems like SO much work. I can never get myself to go. How can I fix this and actually use the gym membership I am paying $70 for?

Jim

Well Jim, even though $70 sounds like an expensive gym membership to me, I think I can offer some advice.

Physical fitness is discipline of the mind AND body, not just the body. It’s pushing yourself, developing routines, challenging your limits, then enjoying the results of a job well done.

The first step is to buy some actual gym clothing. Buy a dedicated pair of running/gym shoes. Not high tops or basketball shoes or crosstrainers, but actual running shoes. You will need them. The next step is to buy some gym shorts and a couple workout shirts. Don’t be the guy at the gym wearing jeans or khakis to work out. Wearing actual gym clothes to the gym (that you don’t wear anywhere else) will help you get into the mindset of going to the gym. Superman doesn’t fight crime in jeans and an old “Show Me Your Boobies” shirt..he fights crime in his costume, and that is what your gym clothing is. You are essentially “Fitness Guy” in those clothes. You’re on a mission dammit, now get out of the house.

The next step is to develop a routine. Go to the gym and scope out the equipment (not the women) or talk with a trainer and develop some goals. The point of this is to develop a pattern of work out routines that will help you sculpt your body. Once the routine is developed, start slow, but remain consistent. You may miss a few favorite shows or a night or two drinking beer with the guys, but keep your goals in mind. After starting slow, and finding your limits with the routine, push yourself and challenge those limits, but not too much. For example, if you jog a mile in 12 minutes, push the speed up and see if you can complete it in 11, then 10, then 9, and so on.

The final step is to change your eating habits. You’d mentioned putting on quite a bit of weight, and I don’t know what “quite a bit” is, but it’s not only from being not active. It also has to do with diet. Your energy level will increase and your body will work more efficiently if you change your daily eating habits. Don’t diet, don’t eat weight loss pills, just eat healthier. Fight off fast food, swear off soda, and junk the junk food. Increase your fruit and vegetable intake, eat more chicken and beef or spinach (you’ll need the iron), and watch your portions. Don’t eat to be full, eat to be not hungry.

It’s a big decision to be healthy, and I commend you for it. Your body will reward you later.

If you need anything else, let me know. Good luck.

Sean

