Album review numero dos

I am a fan of punk music, and have been for my entire listening experience. Yeah, yeah, the Ramones, Pixies, Sex Pistols, and Descendants all come to mind when I mention punk (or they should), but that’s not my style. My punk favorites are bands such as: The Maine, Yellowcard, Dashboard Confessional, Get Up Kids, and many more.

Recently, I’ve been finding punk covers of pop, hip hop and R&B songs, and finally discovered where most of them are coming from. Punk Goes Crunk is the name of the album. It has covers of artists like Akon, Notorious BIG, Dr Dre and Tupac, and Outkast.

The cover of Akon’s “I Wanna Love You” is MUCH better than the original Akon version (mainly because it is in more than three different notes. Akon is a bit limited), while the cover of “California Love” provides a different attitude to the rap classic. Finally the cover of Outkast’s “Hey Ya” is true to the original, but adds some much needed guitar to the song. Awesome stuff.

A few songs that aren’t on the album that are worth checking out are:

“Love in This Club” covered by Minneapolis’s own Represent!

“Poker Face” covered by Daughtry

“All My Life” covered by Let’s Get It

and another Akon cover..

“Don’t Matter” covered by Phone Calls From Home.

If you aren’t a fan of covers, you’re missing out. These are all awesome.

