coming up short

Melissa wrote:

Sean, maybe you can help me. I met this guy and dated for three wonderful months, but suddenly he broke things off. When I asked him why he didn’t want to see me anymore, he told me that I had a few flaws (I was too short, I was too soft spoken, I was not wild enough) and that he was at a place in his life where he didn’t feel he should settle.

I felt hurt and blindsided by his reply. Do people really think like this on a regular basis? If so, I am done dating.

Melissa

Melissa, everyone has flaws.  This guy, besides being an ass, probably has a few himself.  Did he think you’d sprout a few inches over the second and third month?  Dumbass..

Anyway, most people aren’t like this.  Everyone has their dealbreakers, but everyone also has their own flaws.  When it comes down to it, the choice to pursue anything with someone may include deciding whether or not any flaws are or aren’t dealbreakers.  He should have known by at least the second or third date though and not dragged it out.

To prove my point, I’d like people to email me with what they think their three flaws are.  Be as open as you feel you can be.

Sean

