Plasma colada

So I’ve been reaading about the benefits of MCFA’s (medium chain fatty acids) versus short or long chain fatty acids lately (fascinating, I know..), and I have also been seeing more and more information about how coconut is this nutritional powerhouse (I’ve loved coconut water for about two years now). After almost one full week of reading, I decided to treat myself to a full coconut. I didn’t plan to eat the whole thing, but I cracked it and began carving out the meat when, all of a sudden the knife slipped and I gashed my finger. If you haven’t figured out by now, between the ribs, the tailbone, and the finger, I am an accident prone person.

Anyway, as I was bleeding into my coconut, I started to laugh (which probably would have also looked really strange) because I realized that I’d been looking forward to this coconut ALL night and now I couldn’t eat part of it. On top of that, the part I DID end up eating was not sweet at all. I guess I can’t pick a good coconut.

By now you are probably wondering how I found a life lesson in all of this. Here ya go:

Sometimes we build things up in our heads and we get SO overwhelmed with excitement that when things don’t turn out exactly as we thought they would, we get frustrated or upset instead of taking life as it comes and just enjoing the moment for what it is. What is “what it is”? It’s life lived and not lost. It’s friends, it’s family, it’s love. It’s air and ground and everything in between and it’s happening every second around us.

Therefore, the next time you find yourself bleeding into an inedible coconut, remember that that moment is another moment lived in a beautiful life..yours.

