Weight of the world.

Karl wrote:

Sean,

I’ve been dating a woman for about a year and a half and just recently found out her credit is ruined.  She has about $70,000 in debt, with about half of that in collections.  She feels the best way to escape debt is to just not pay.  I tried talking to her about it because I can’t see spending my life with someone who has been so irresponsible, but she got really upset and said I should just take her as she is.  I really care about her, but I am not going to get married and take on all of her debt if she has no intention of ever paying for it.  What do I do?

Karl

Karl

Excessive debt can sometimes feel like the weight of the world is resting on the shoulders of the person that owes the money.  However, running from debt is never a good thing.  I would recommend talking to her again and explaining what kind of effect this discovery has had on your feelings of a future between you two.  Don’t give ultimatums, just explain that it’s causing some issues.  try to get her to understand that you value the relationship, but also that  in a marriage, both people need to be responsible in every aspect.  If she refuses to step up, maybe it’s time to step away.

Good luck.

Sean

