Air

Samantha wrote:

Sean,  I have had a string of bad relationships lasting almost a decade.  I got out of an abusive relationship, only to jump into three more.  I finally spent two years on my own and figured myself out, just like you recommend.  I have been fortunate enough to find a great guy that I have been dating for the past 6 months.  The issue though, is that I really love him.  He loves me, at least he says he does..and he wants to get a place together.  I guess what I am asking is, how do I know if this is “THE ONE”?  I don’t want another broken heart.

Samantha

Samantha,
How do you know if he is “the one”?  You don’t.  Then again, you don’t see the air that you breathe, you don’t see your heart beating on a daily basis, and you don’t feel the sun burning either, and that doesn’t mean those things aren’t happening.  Would you want to know if someone you were dating was the one?  That would make things pretty boring.  Also, what if the person that was the one, turned out to be no one you would be ever attracted to?  The best you can hope for, is to love with your whole heart and do what you can to make things as permanent as possible.  If you two really care fro each other and make an effort to see that things work well between the two of you, you’ll have no problem being “the one” for each other. 

Sean

