Sugar and spice..

Doug O wrote:

Sean,

I’ve been reading your blog for a while now and I have a dilemma I hope you can help me with.  I’ve seen you write that you have a daughter and I just found out that my wife and I will be having a daughter as well.  I’ve always wanted a son (this is our first child and I realize I may still have a chance for that), so I don’t know how to prepare myself to be the father of a girl.  I wanted a son because I want someone to watch sports with, to work on cars with, to talk about girls with, etc.  I grew up with three sisters, so I know the value of being a guy in a household full of women.  Do you like having a girl?  Do you wish you’d had a boy?

Doug O.
Doug,

I can honestly say that I initially anticipated having a boy but when I found out it would be a girl, I was even more excited.  Why?  Being the father of a girl gives you the chance to do non guy things.  The man law I try to humorously write about doesn’t apply when it comes to being the father of a little girl.  Instead of the traditional boy toys, you can play “picnic” and voice the daddy doll when she wants you to play dolls with her.  If she’s a tomboy, you can teach her how to climb trees, then she can teach you how to do a ponytail for her.  You shop for skorts, capris and dresses rather than shorts or jeans, you’ll buy more nail polish than you ever thought you’d ever see (it’s amazing how they never quite get the cap tight enough to keep it from drying out), and the band-aids you buy will likely be more Hello Kitty and less GI Joe.

I love having a little girl because as she grows older, I’ll be able to share things with her from the perspective that I had as a teenage boy.  I’ll teach her about respecting herself, about staying true to her values, and about the value of honesty.  There will be some disagreements and some arguments, but I feel that I’ve planted the seed of respect early enough to keep anything major from happening. As she goes off to college you can teach her about changing her car tire, finances, and staying safe in social situations.  You get to be the advice guy.  As she leaves college and goes out on her own, you’ll still be the one she goes to for support.  Mom may provide emotional support and friendship, but you provide the backbone.  When marriage time comes, you also get to give your daughter to another man and can only hope that you raised her well enough to select the right guy to love her forever.

While it may be nice to have guy time, I feel that’s what friends are for.  Daughters allow for Daddy Time..that’s my favorite time.
Sean

