Like?

Facebook logo

Image via Wikipedia

Alicia wrote:

I’ve been in a relationship with a guy “Bob” for about 6 months and the last 2 months have been a little weird.  We both got sick at one point and didn’t see each other for a week and a half, then after making plans, he had to suddenly leave town for a friend’s bachelor party.  Not once in the six months did he mention this party and all of a sudden after a week away from me, he leaves town.  It weirded me out, but I kept it cool.  Everything was fine at the beginning of this week until I found out that he didn’t really leave town as he had said, he just had his birthday party and had a pile of people there to help him celebrate but didn’t tell me it was his birthday and left me out of everything.  What capped it all off was this group of women that have been making comments on his facebook page (they initially ratted him out).  He denied everything at first, but gave in later and confessed everything.  What’s up with that?  Do you think Bob is cheating?

Alicia

Alicia,

I don’t necessarily know that Bob is cheating, but what I do know is that there are some major communication issues here and Bob seems to be more interested in keeping you around for his own needs and less interested in having a healthy relationship with you.  Put Facebook aside.  In all reality, Facebook can very easily be manipulated to look one way and actually be another.  If I posted “You were fantastic last night” on some stranger’s page, she can deny everything she wants..it still leaves a mark on her life and her friends’/boyfriends’ perceptions of her.  I would have no truth to back up any claim I made, but then again, neither does she.  The internet isn’t full of truth and leaves much to be misunderstood.

Facebook aside, he appears to be excluding you from his life on purpose, and SO much so that he was willing to lie about it.  It’s time you sit down with him and let him know you feel disrespected and that you deserve more than that in a relationship.  If he disagrees, I think you would agree your best bet is to remove yourself from the equation.

Sean

