Long overdue

For the past few months I’ve been trying to find enough musical motivation to post a music review, but I haven’t found the right set of albums to talk about..until now.  I’ve chosen a few bands to talk about today that I feel have really released an album worth listening to.  Here we go:

Thriving Ivory

This band has a rather moderate but loyal following.  Thriving Ivory started in Santa Barbara, California in the early 2000’s and saw some success with their first two albums, but their latest release “Through Yourself and Back Again” aims to bring them to the peak of their success.  Lead singer Clayton Stroope sometimes sounds a little like Gavin McGraw mixed with Savage Garden’s Darren Hayes, but the piano rock catchiness seems to blend well with his voice.  This release finds the band a little older and wiser, yet songs like “Love Alone”, “Cobwebs”, and “Some Kind of Home” are perfect examples of the layering of emotion this band manages to weave into the songs.  Get this album.  I couldn’t find a YouTube video of any new songs, so I am posting a cover they did of a 90’s song called “Kiss the Rain.”

 

Anberlin

This Florida based band has just released their latest album “Dark is a Way Light is a Place” and has once again cemented itself into my iPod playlist.  They have been one of my favorite bands for years because their sound..everything in their sound..is unique.  Yeah, it’s guitar based rock, but the vocal sound is different and the music complexity and lyrics are moving, to say the least.  Album after album, this band has managed to work love and relationships into a listener friendly format.  They’re coming to First Avenue on October 22 too, so if you get a chance, check them out.  I tried to find an actual video of their song “You Belong Here” from the new album, but I was only able to find the lyrics video from YouTube.  Here you go..hopefully it isn’t removed soon.

Sara Bareilles

I haven’t been a fan of femal singer/songwriters lately.  I though KT Tunstall sucked, Duffy was just a rehashed Amy Winehouse, and the rest sounded so much alike that I am sure most of you can’t name more than three that made the top 40 in the last 5 years.  Sara Bareilles is an exception to that rule.  I think of her as the Billy Joel of femal piano rock.  I know that Alexa Joel (Billy’s daughter) has a career too, but Sara basically beat her to the punch and did a much better job.  Her latest album Kaleidoscope Heart is amazing and definitely worth a listen.  Here is another YouTube lyric video for her song “Let the Rain”.

So there you have it, three albums that have had me rocking out, smiling, and enjoying music once again.  I hope you like them.  Feel free to let me know what you think.

Sean

