When rebellion is wrong..

Astrid and Her Cradle - 1 month

Image by alberth2 via Flickr

Mishelle wrote:

Sean,

I don’t know if you can help me or not.  I am 15 and my boyfriend is 21.  My parents were upset once they found out how old he was and they forbid me seeing him, so I sneak around behind their backs to spend time with him.  He just makes me feel so loved and so mature.  He says he wants to marry me and I really like him, but I don’t know if I should do that or not.  Will it keep my parents off of my back if they see how committed I am?

Mishelle

Mishelle

DON’T MARRY THIS GUY.  There is a reason your parents don’t like this guy.  You are 15 and he is 21.  That age gap isn’t so big when you’re 25 and he’s 31 because you’ve developed mentally and physically..but for now, it’s a really bad thing..and illegal in most states.  I am not going to rag on this guy for liking you though.  There are times when it may be pure an innocent and non-sexual, but most times it’s sexual and a much darker issue than you want to be a part of.  All in all, you’re young..he’s not.  You may want to feel mature, but what you’re doing isn’t ACTING mature.  You have SO much growing up to do, despite the fact that he makes you feel mature.  Your parents are looking out for you the best they can and they saw a potentially bad situation.  Relationships like this rarely work out positively.  Do yourself and your parents a favor and just finish growing up before you have a relationship like this.  My advice to you is to date some people your own age, or better yet, don’t.  Don’t date anyone and just finish growing up.  You’ll be glad you did.  Marrying this guy that you like just to get your parents approval won’t work.  Ever.

Sean

