Skyscrapers and bungalows

My first skyscraper!

Image by swisscan via Flickr

Tallgirl1 wrote:

Sean,

I am in love with a wonderful man and he is in love with me.  The problem lies with my friends (and his, to some extent), you see, I am 4 inches taller than he is and my friends and a few of his take every shot they can at making us feel self conscious about this.  At first it didn’t bother either one of us (I’m not a stuck up bitch who rules out shorter guys as some sort of weird psychological inadequacy), but now the teasing is making me feel that it may not be socially acceptable.  He is also feeling the heat.  His guy friends keep ribbing him and it’s making him feel self-conscious.

What do we do?  How do we tell our friends that they are the problem, not us?

Tallgirl1

 

I know plenty of women that are not willing to date anyone shorter than they are.  It’s not some deep psychological thing, it’s simply the fact that they want a man taller than they are.  I also know women like you that don’t really give a rat’s ass how tall the guy they date is, they look at the person, not the prominence.  Nothing wrong with that either way.

Anyway, the solution to the problem is a simple one.  You both need to find the courage to stand up to your friends and put an end to the teasing.  If it’s gone on for as long as you make it out to be, then it’s time to tell them to stop..the joke has run it’s course.  If they don’t cease, maybe it’s time to find some friends that can be truly happy for your loving relationship.

Sean

