Follow your bliss

Joseph Campbell

Wise man.

Allison wrote:

I recently moved in with my boyfriend after dating for 11 months and I think I am going insane.  I thought it’d be this fantastic life of having dinner parties, having family over for visits, and still getting to go out with my girls on the weekends, but it’s really not much like that at all.  He and I both work two jobs to make our ends meet, I go to school to finish my degree, and we only have a decent amount of time to spend together three or four nights a week.  I love this man more than anything (and he loves me just as much) and I want a future with him, but I am wondering..What went wrong?    Why is nothing like I planned it?

Allison

 

Allison,

Joseph Campbell once said, “You must give up the life you planned in order to have the life that is waiting for you.”  Wise words from a very wise man.  Look him up, he’s got some really great outlooks on life.

You planned your life too far in advance, and yet you’re looking at your desired end goal and thinking it’ll just be that way the whole time, which is a mistake.  Have you ever played with LEGOS?  Let’s say you were to build a house with them..does it start our with four walls and a roof?  No.  You have to build it, brick by brick.  It takes time, effort, and some short AND long term planning before you have that little LEGO house done.  The same goes with life.  There is life out there waiting for you, but if you’re too focused on what you’d planned, you’ll miss it.  That’s not to say you shouldn’t plan, you should just realize that things change and you need to change with them.

Joseph Campbell is also known for the phrase, “Follow your bliss.”  He explained, “If you follow your bliss, you put yourself on a kind of track that has been there all the while, waiting for you, and the life that you ought to be living is the one you are living. Wherever you are—if you are following your bliss, you are enjoying that refreshment, that life within you, all the time.”  You love this man more than anything (and he loves you), so take pleasure in knowing you two have a great life together..then also keep in mind that your life may have it’s challenges, but it will always be great together.

Sean

