New House

Dusty house drawn on the back of a van

Image by dumbledad via Flickr

So I moved (partially) into the new house and I’ll be posting pics as soon as I get situated.  It was a long day of cleaning, carpet steaming, and light moving.  This weekend I’ll tackle the heavy stuff.

I spent the night in the new house too.  I slept okay, but also realized that it’d take a little getting used to.  Being in a new place is one thing but being in a new place that you now have invested money in is different.  I am so happy with my house and yet I find myself wanting to change so many tiny details (light fixtures, faucets, flooring, etc).  I could drive myself mad with making lists about every intricate detail that I’d like to change, or I can handle the larger issues and hit the small ones later.  Maybe if I do it right, the smaller issues will be solved by the larger ones getting completed.   In figuring things out, I found another life lesson.

The lesson is, “Sometimes your heater clunks for a reason.”

Olivia complained about the heater making a clunking noise several times last night and I replied with “sometimes a heater clunks for a reason” because at that moment, I knew things in this house all have their purpose.  The heater is a new, efficient radiant hydronic heat system and it clunks because of thermal expansion in the pipes.  It’s not a loud clunk, but it’s there…at least it’s there, for her.  I, on the other hand, hardly noticed it.  I told her it’s the same as her tummy gurgling.  Sometimes she makes noises as her body does what it needs to do.

So where’s the lesson?  We all serve our purpose in life.  Some people may see us as “clunks in the system”, but if we continue to serve our purpose and not give up, we’ll succeed in life.  On the other hand, if we worry about our (and everyone else’s) “clunks”, we’ll lose sight of what we should be doing.  Focus on yourself and your purpose in life.  Michael Douglas was recently asked about religion and he replied, “I believe there is a spirit within us, which we nurture based upon our efforts and what we bring to the world.  But it doesn’t come from the outside, it comes from the inside.”

We all have a purpose in life and no one else can tell us what that purpose is.  We have to find it and hold on to it.

Sean

