Mandune.

Dan-o wrote:

Sean,

I just started dating a woman “Jane” three weeks ago.  Things are going great, but there is one flaw.  She says words incorrectly ALOT!!  It’d be okay if she had one word that she said wrong, but in the typical sentence, she says about 2-3 words wrong and it drives me crazy.  Here are some examples:

Real Word-She says

Ask-Aks

Especially-Expecially

Espresso-Expresso

Across-Acrossed

Escape-Excape

mayonnaise-mannaise

Often-Offen

Probably-Probly

Brought-Brang

Slept-Sleeped

And the list goes on and on.

Anyway, how do I correct her without making her seem like an idiot or making it seem like I am a snooty know-it-all?

Dan-o

 

Dan-o,

For a second, I thought this would be a “how to I break up with her?” letter, but I was relieved to see you’re not letting something like this stand in the way of you getting to know someone.

That said, I know it can be rough talking with someone who sounds unintelligent.  It can be even harder to correct them without sounding like a prick.  Did Jane have a formal education?  Does she write well?  If you’d answer “yes” to both of those, then I’d say it’s just how she talks and it’s as simple as throwing out a correction or two in the form of a sentence.  When she says “Aks”, you ask, “Do you mean ASK?”  Throw out an occasional one of these and either she’ll get the hint without you looking like a fool or she’ll keep it up and you’ll need to decide whether it’s a dealbreaker or not.

 

Sean

