Baritone Betty

TYT77 wrote:

Sean,

I’m a big fan of your blog.  I read it whenever I can.  I am also hoping you can help me with something that’s bugging me.  I have recently started dating a girl that (when I met her for the first time) I realized has a really low voice.  I know it’s a girl (not a man or former man..unless she’s lying) because she said she gets teased about her voice alot.  Now I am not saying she sounds like Barry White or anything, but it is low.  I keep remembering the scene from Coming to America where Eddie Murphy is in a bar and finds the woman with the low voice.  It doesn’t bother me, but I worry about what my friends or family would think about it.  What do I do?

TYT77

 

TYT77.

Is this the scene you’re talking about?  The one where Arsenio Hall plays the woman?

I’d say you do nothing.  If it doesn’t bother you, who cares what anyone else thinks?  I know people with birthmarks, port wine stains, and other things that often times put too much effort into caring what other people think about them.  It simply doesn’t matter.  If she’s a good person and you enjoy being with her, it doesn’t make one bit of difference what people think about her voice.  Sure, you two may have phone call confusion at times, but that will more likely be the biggest issue you two face.  Just sit back and enjoy your new relationship…stop worrying about everyone else.

Sean

