Old fashioned

MNM81 wrote:

Sean,

I’ve been doing the online dating thing and I’ve discovered that many of the women I am interested in describe themselves as old fashioned.  I am okay with that.  What I am not okay with is when they expect the guy to do all of the pursuing.  I email them and make contact and they don’t email unless they are replaying to an email I’ve written.  Sometimes it takes days and weeks to get a response and they don’t go out of their way to contact me because (many have said) old-fashioned woman don’t chase..they want to be courted and pursued by the guy.  Is this right?

MNM81

 

MNM81,

Any way you look at it, it’s not right.  If old-fashioned women want things to be old-fashioned, then they better quit their job, start wearing clothing that covers 7/8 of their bodies, give up voting rights, and learn to be treated like an object rather than as a human being.  Women and men are equals in the dating world and women have just as much responsibility to pursue as they have to be pursued.  It really upsets me when women don’t make any effort in the dating world and just expect guys to come to them.  Dating and relationships should be an equal platform of communication, trust, and effort..both giving 100%.

Now, if “old-fashioned” is meant to describe morals and values, that’s another thing.  If a woman wants to date awhile or to get to know someone before becoming physical, there’s nothing wrong with that, just as there’s nothing wrong with a guy following the same principles.

My advice to you is to leave these women alone.  Maybe after months of no contact, they’ll wake up and see their mistake.

Sean

 

