Proscinati..oh, I’ll finish later.

A Day Off Work

Not even close to the snow depth we had here..but a good illustrator.

BV213 wrote:

Sean,

I’ve been out of high school for 6 years now and I want to go to college to finish my degree.  I know I’ll need a degree in business to do what I want to eventually do in life, and yet, I can’t make myself  complete the enrollment process.  How do I get up enough motivation to do this?  I want to finish school but the idea of more homework and more work seems to be my biggest hangup.  I work a M-F job right now and I like having my nights and weekends free to go have fun, yet I know I need to grow up.

BV213

BV213,

There is no room for procrastination if you want to get anywhere in life.  It is always going to be easier to put things off rather than buckle down and accomplish the goals you set for yourself, but you need to realize that life isn’t about you.  Life is about where you fit in along with everyone else.  Maybe you haven’t found your niche..or maybe your lack of a degree is keeping you from finding that niche, but putting things off isn’t helping things one bit.  It’s easy to go through life on cruise control, but it’s not always going to be so easy.  As you get older, it will become harder and harder to maintain your carefree ways.  A short time later, you’ll find yourself at a dead end with all of your friends having moved on with life after accomplishing their goals and setting new ones.

I’ll use an example from my life.  I had asked my roommate Andy to shovel the deck after a large snowfall this winter.  He said he’d do it that night.  Instead of grabbing the shovel when he came home, he went downstairs for the night.  The next day, I asked him again and he apologized, then said he had something going on that night, but he’d get to it when he came home.  It didn’t get done.  Later that night (and most of the day the next day) more snow…HEAVIER snow came, which made the drift covering the deck almost 5 feet high.  Andy came home that evening and grabbed a shovel, but instead of a 30 minute shovel job, he had over an hour of shovel work to do.  When he was done, Andy was sore, cold, wet, and miserable.  The lesson from this story is to get your goals done ASAP or you’ll eventually be facing a mountain of things to accomplish rather than just one or two things.

It’s great that you have time to see friends and hang out, but free time never takes priority over responsibility.  If you’re over the age of 21 (and it sounds like you are), responsibility says volumes about who you are.  Have you heard the saying , “my word is my bond”?  It means your word is only as strong as your personal integrity.  If you’re constantly making and breaking promises to anyone, including yourself, everyone else can see that, and it will eventually lead to them seeing that your word isn’t any good.  As they get older, they’ll want to keep friends around them that can deliver on promises they make (and deliver on time), and if you can’t do that, you’ll be left to the wind.  Make any excuse you like..if you aren’t delivering on your personal goals, no one really cares. They’ll simply move on without you.  You’re only letting yourself down by not completing your goals.

You set some goals for yourself and you know what you want to do.  It’s time to grow up and get things done.  No more excuses.

