D-Ribose with the most.

Pharmacy Rx symbol

RX

Onika wrote:

Sean,

I found I have RLS (Restless Leg Syndrome) and was recently told by a doctor to take D-Ribose.  He says there’s nothing dangerous about it, but I wanted a second opinion.  I don’t even know where to look online so I asked a few friends and they’ve never heard of it.  Have you?  Is this stuff fake?

Onika

Onika,

Nope, not fake…it’s good stuff!  In fact, I use it and love it.  D-Ribose is found at GNC and most drug stores and is essentially a vessel for feeding your body energy.  Think of it this way:  If energy was a bowl of jello and you wanted to fuel your body, D-Ribose would be the spoon.

As we age, our body has to work harder to produce this nutrient, so taking a D-Ribose supplement is an excellent way to get that extra helping.  I did a little research on D-Ribose since I had no idea it was used for RLS, and I found that while a few studies showed a benefit between taking D-Ribose and lowering symptoms of RLS, there aren’t any major scientific clinical trials that have proven it’s effectiveness. Kudos to your doctor as well…he/she may be attempting to provide you with a healthier alternative than the traditional medicines like Horizant which can cause dizziness and fatigue in some cases.

However, D-Ribose IS proven effective in treating the following health issues:  Chronic Fatigue Syndrome, fibromyalgia, muscle fatigue, and even heart problems.  If you suffer from any of these issues, you may want to talk with your doctor about D-Ribose, then swing in to your local GNC/Vitamin Shoppe and pick some up.

Sean

