Spinning

Anonymous wrote;

Sean,

I’ve been reading your blog for quite some time and I just want you to know that you’re an inspiration to myself and many out here.  When I started reading, I was going through a serious breakup and had some huge issues with self-esteem, weight, and perhaps even depression though I never had it checked.  I read how determined you were to change yourself and your world around you and I decided to do the same.  In the past year, I’ve lost 50lbs, finished school and now have begun the search for a career in Physical Training.  I think it will be rewarding to help others achieve the results I did.

Anyway, I am not writing to you looking for praise.  I am writing to you because I have a question for you.  I am wondering how you keep your life in check and not let it get out of control.  From what I understand, you have a weekday job, a weekend job, a daughter, and a blog.  That seems like a TON of work to me, so I assume you have some pointers on how to keep things in line, am I right?

Anonymous

Anonymous,

First, let me congratulate you on your changes in life (even though you weren’t looking for praise).  It’s good to see there are people out there that believe in bettering themselves.

Now, to answer your question, I do have a hectic life to an extent, but I take some very basic steps to make sure I have plenty of free time.  Here are my tips in no particular order:

1.  Multitask as much as possible.  I think people concentrate on doing one thing at a time MUCH too often and don’t realize all of the time they’d save by thinking ahead and multitasking.  Have you ever made your grocery list, gone to the store and bought your food only to return home and realize you’re out of toilet paper and cleaning supplies?  If you plan a little mroe on the front end, you could easily get it all done (and possibly run other errands on the way) in one trip.

2.  I clean daily.  I don’t mean “whole house clean” but I mean picking up, sweeping, mopping, etc., as needed rather than waiting for a three hour block of time to do it on the weekend.  By hammering away at little tasks, I free up my weekend schedule. Yes, this includes laundry.

3.  I plan out my meals. Planning your meals saves you time and money by streamlining your grocery list and also know what you’re having each night so you don’t waste any time trying to figure out what to eat.  By planning out meals, you can also thaw frozen foods in the fridge while at work, react to any “pop up” food needs along the way, and you’ll even snack less!

4.  If something needs to be done, do it.  Procrastinating can make things back up like a train wreck.  If something needs to be done, just take the initiative and get it done.  By getting things done up front, you’ll always have more time to relax later.

5.  Schedule, schedule, schedule.  Make sure you’re always got a schedule for the things you HAVE to do, so you also know when you have free time to do the things you WANT to do.

That’s all I really do to keep things straight.  It may seem like a ton of work, or it may seem like it’s not worth the effort, but trust me..the time it saves is definitely worth it.  I work a ton, I am a dad, and I blog…and I still have tons of free time.

Sean

