Mixing it up

DNA

It's colorful at the Y.

Shadai wrote:

Sean,

I am a 1/2 Mexican, 1/2 Puerto Rican woman (American Born) and I am having issues on dating sites.  I don’t list myself as Hispanic because I am mixed, but when I list mixed race people seem to be bothered by this.  One guy even wrote me and said he was 1/2 and 1/2 like me and it doesn’t constitute as mixed race, it’s Hispanic.  I told him to go to hell.  How can people be ignorant of their own races and expect to find whoever they’re looking for?

Shadai

 

Shadai,

I don’t know, you tell me.  You seem to be pretty ignorant here.  I am a literal “who’s who” of European heritage.  Norwegian, Irish, German, and even blood WAAAAY back into Spain.  I am not mixed race (well, by DNA standards I MAY be due the the millennium old Spain royalty blood line) by definition, I am white…just as you are Hispanic.  You are mixed CULTURE, which is not what the dating site is identifying your race by. I hope you see what I am getting at.

Here’s another way to put it.  If the world’s races were divided by real colors (let’s say pink, red, blue, purple, green are the colors like some sort of psychedelic Smurf world), and you were from a family of light pink dad and dark pink mom, you’d list your race as PINK.  However, if you were a Smurfy thing with a mom that was red and a dad that was green, you’d list MIXED RACE.

Your Puerto Rican and mexican cultures are important to you, and I understand that, but it’s not your race.  Maybe try listing your cultural heritage in the text of your profile “about me” section and explain things that way.  Oh, you owe that guy who emailed you there an apology too.

Sean

 

