Kids

Disposable diaper, size 12-25kg/26-55lb.

Sweet heaven..a clean one..

Melissa wrote:

Sean,

You really seem to love your daughter.  Has she ever put you in a frustrating position that is so overwhelming, you HAVE to just laugh?  I’d like to share one with you.  I have two kids, Shelby who is 2 and Anita who is 7.  I love them to death and they love each other very much.  Anita has always been very interested in helping me with Shelby, who is the more difficult of the two. 

Anyway, back when Shelby was just 6 months old (Anita was around 5), I’d just gotten divorced and was rasing the two of them on my own.  One day, I was making lunch for us when I heard Shelby fart from the other room.  Yes, it was one of those farts that parents know well-the poop explosion into a diaper.  For you non-parents out there, it sounds much like a whoopee cushion, but faster and louder. 

Anita yelled out, “Shelby pooped!”

I told her I knew and I’d be right out. 

As I finished making her sandwich, I heard Anita again.  “It stinks!” She said. 

I had a sinking feeling as she then said, “And it’s yellow!  Eeeewww!”

I put the sandwich down and ran into the living room.  Anita had attempted to change Shelby by herself and had removed the diaper.  Poop was everywhere:  on Anita’s clothes and hands, on Shelby’s clothes, on the couch, and on the floor.  Anita stood there as I looked at her in horror and said, “I was just trying to help.”

She started to tear up, partially because she knew I could be mad, but mostly because of the mess.  Just then, Shelby let loose a pee stream onto the rug. 

I couldn’t take it.  I burst out laughing and Anita did too.  I cleaned everything up, got Shelby changed and sanitized, and got Anita into the bathtub. 

I explained that even though Mommy gets busy from time to time, and that she appreciated Anita’s help, Mommy could use Anita’s help in other areas, rather than diaper changing.  Anita and I learned to help each other out.  She would pick up her messes and put her clothes into our laundry bin by herself.  She still does to this day.  I’ve had many challenges being a single mom, but the fact that my daughter(s) are always willing to help, makes life much easier-even if it means cleaning up a room full of human waste from time to time.

You’re a lucky guy that your daughter is so helpful.  I bet you have done a great job with the things you’re taught her.

Just thought I’d share.

Melissa

Thanks Melissa!  Great story too!

