Like Father Like Daughter Pt 2

A reader recently suggested that I have Olivia answer a few letters from readers, so get a child’s perspective.  She knows about my blog, and though she doesn’t know about EVERYTHING I blog about, I imagine she will someday.  I found three requests I’d been working on and asked her for her input.  Her responses are in parts 1, 2, and 3.

Second letter was from Patty:

Sean,

I have a dilemma.  I recently started dating a guy with kids and I’ve never been in that situation before.  I am 25 and he is 32 and his kids are 7 and 9.  How do I enter into something like this without causing issues?  I really like the guy so I’m really nervous!  Help!

Patty

Patty,

Here is what Olivia had to say…

Olivia: Easy. Tuck the kids in at night and be nice to them. Or, just maybe take them special places and be excited to see them.

Me: What else?

Olivia: If she cooks, make sure she cooks good dinners. She should also be nice to their dad.

Me: Okay.. and?

Olivia: Hmm. Relax? It’s just kids. They are usually good unless you make them not like you.

More good advice from Olivia. Be nice, take time for the kids, make good meals, be excited, and relax.

Couldn’t agree more.

Sean

