Dating dilemma.

Kevin wrote:

Sean,

I have a dilemma I am hoping you can help me with.  I am 34 and recently single after a horrible end to a 3 year marriage.  I have recently also begun dating but this is the cause of my problems.  I get nervous before dates and and for some reason, I get bad gas before and even during a date.  It’s so bad that I sometimes make excuses to leave the table or the room (“I forgot something in my car”, etc) so I can go release the pressure.  The gas, if I hold it in, also makes really loud noises, so I have to be careful.

What causes this?  How do I stop it?

Kevin

Kevin,

It may not be nerves that are causing giving you a “case of the farts”.  It is true that breathing heavily (like when you’re nervous) can cause excessive swallowed air that, when not burped out, can increase flatulence, but many other things

Keep Out No Farting

..and pray you never see this sign..

can also add to the issue.  Here are some tips:

1.  Watch out for cola and fizzy beverages.  If you’re drinking these before or during a date, it may add to gas levels in your intestines.  Couple that with nervous breathing and you’re a walking fart time bomb.

2.  Monitor foods such as asparagus, cabbage, eggs,, dairy products, melons, and wheat bran can also cause gas.  This isn’t to say you should just stick to a large steak or anything, but try to track down which foods cause the most gas for you, then limit or avoid them on date night.

3.  Invest in beano or Gas-X.  These products help reduce the amount of gas that is produced by the body.  Safe and effective, this may also be used in a pinch.

4.  If all else fails, go talk with your doctor..it may be part of a larger issue.

Gas can be a real pain (no pun intended) while on a date, so do your best to pinpoint the issue and make some minor changes to fix it.  You AND your date will be glad you did.

Sean

