Baby just say yes..

Holly wrote:

Sean,

Three weeks ago, I met the love of my life.  He is everything I ever wanted and he says he feels the same about me.  Our first date never ended and we married within our first three weeks of knowing each other.

The problem is that my parents are SUPER upset that I married him in such a short time.  You may be agreeing with them at this point, but let me explain that I am not an impulsive person, I have no self esteem issues, no drug or drinking issues, and no psychological issues that I know of.  I consider myself normal.  My parents were upset because they wanted me to have a “long courtship” and a big wedding.  I am not that person, nor have I ever been.  From the moment I met Scott, it was love and we both new it.  After our second day together, we talked about marriage and we were determined to make it work.

My parents say I am crazy.  I am a single, 31 year old responsible adult with no kids.  Will they ever get over it?  Am I crazy?

Holly

Holly,
I don’t think you’re crazy.  We all make choices in life that others don’t agree with, but if it isn’t hurting anyone, I don’t see a problem with it.  You don’t have kids,  so I personally don’t see why your parents should be making a big deal about all of this, though I can understand their frustration if they’d been investing in a big marriage and you dashed their plans.  

You need to make this work and show them this was the right decision.  I hope you can show them that you made a good choice in marrying Scott.  They’ll eventually come around if you can do that.

Sean

