Small time

Joe wrote:

Sean,

This girl I have been seeing has just one annoying habit and I’d like to know if you think this would be a dealbreaker for you. 

She is wonderful and we have soooo much in common but she ONLY shops at small markets and co-ops, only buys natural or organic foods, and if I bring “normal” food, she won’t eat it.  I can’t afford to always be paying so much for food and it seems weird that she is so standoffish about food I buy. 

What do I do here?  Would this be a dealbreaker for you?  I think it is, but my friends say I am overreacting.  Your verdict?

Joe

Joe,
I don’t think you’re overreacting.  If this is something you feel is too much to handle, then its your call, not your friends’.  I buy from co-ops and markets but I also buy from regular grocery stores as well and I certainly don’t turn away good food…but some people feel the foods they purchase from smaller markets are better for some reason or it is supporting a cause other than a corporation.  While they are certainly free to spend where they please, I feel that turning away “normal” food is excessive.

In the end, this is your decision to make.  However, before you make the decision,  try talking to her to better understand her perspective.  Good luck!

Sean

