Last call

Bvguy wrote:

Sean,

This girl I think I love drinks alot. The problem is, she and I are still in high school and it really bothers me when she drinks. I tried talking to her about it but she got defensive, so how do I make her understand that her drinking is wrong?

Bvguy

Bvguy,
Are you two in a relationship or are you loving her secretly like Ducky on Pretty In Pink? If you’re playing the Ducky role (watch the damn movie), you may just have to let her know how her drinking makes you feel and leave it at that, but if you’re in a relationship, it may be easier to talk about. If you are indeed dating, let her know that her drinking is beginning to affect the relationship and ask her to stop. If she doesn’t, you may need to reevaluate your needs and decide if her drinking is a dealbreaker or not. You may not see this yet, but you have an advantage here…you’re young. You can walk away from this uncomfortable situation and you will find someone perfect for you later, trust me..I have been there. In either case, I appreciate your concern for someone’s health and safety and I hope things work out.

Sean

