Running in circles

Marti wrote,

Sean
I am getting married this spring and have an issue I’d like to get your input on.

My husband is wonderful and I love him more than anything, but I am having adjustment issues with the idea of blending our friends. All my life, my friends have been my own and it bothers me to think they’ll be his friends too now. They all really like him and I guess I am afraid of losing them to him in the blend. What if they don’t want to hang out with me anymore and just want to see him? What if my friends get mad if I spend more time with him or his friends? Its just all so stressful! Help!

Marti

Marti,
I think you’re thinking about this the wrong way. Your friends (if they are true friends) should understand if you spend more time with your fiancee/husband..it comes along with an adult relationship.

The other concern can be answered from my own personal experiences. I have met some wonderful people through the relationship with my fiancee, and I love spending time with them. Does it mean I am replacing the friends I had prior to meeting her? Absolutely not…my circle of friends has simply gotten larger. Juggling the time I spend with them is all a matter of when schedules match. Sometimes things work to see them, sometimes things don’t. If I don’t see them often, it doesn’t make them less of a friend. At the end of the day though, my best friend is the one I will be marrying…maybe you should keep that in mind as well.

Sean

