Gluten Free Bread Pudding

Bread pudding and Tres Leches cake are my two favorite desserts.  I’m still working on a Tres Leches cake recipe, but in the meantime, I have come up with an awesome gluten free bread pudding recipe.  I am not a fan of the bourbon sauces many restaurants use, and I prefer ice cream with it, but for kicks, I also came up with a nice cream sauce topping to add some flavor.

For the bread pudding, you’ll need:

1 Loaf of Gluten Free Bread (I used to half loaves from Bittersweet and made one half loaf a raisin/cinnamon flavor)

4 cups milk

4 eggs

2 cups sugar

2 Tbsp vanilla

1 cup raisins

1/4 tsp allspice

1/2 tsp cinnamon (use 1/4 tsp if using the cinnamon raisin bread)

3 Tbsp melted butter

WP_000298

Getting it all ready..

WP_000299

Bowl of milk and butter.




THEN:

1.  Preheat the oven to 350F

2.  Pour the milk, sugar, vanilla, spice, raisins, cinnamon, melted butter and eggs into a large bowl and mix well.  Once it’s all mixed up, add the bread loaves and soak them, then break them up and mix by hand 0r with a beater.  Yes, it will look like someone puked into a bowl, but it smells delicious.

WP_000300

I warned you.

3.  Once the pieces are broken up as small as possible, let it sit for five minutes, then pour into a butter-greased 9×13 pan and bake for 35-40 minutes.

4.  Remove from oven and enjoy.

WP_000301

YUM.

If you’d like to top with ice cream, it’s awesome.  Otherwise, feel free to make a cream topping like this:

1/4 cup half and half

2 Tbsp sugar

1 tbsp cornstarch

(Heat on med-low until it bubbles, then remove from heat.  It should thicken as it cools.)

Top bread pudding and THEN enjoy!  It goes well with an Angry Orchard Cider!

WP_000302

Cream topping. It started to get syrupy after cooling too much.

After you try it, let me know..

2 thoughts on “Gluten Free Bread Pudding

  1. Mmmm! Looks good! just recently went back to a gluten free diet and bread pudding used to be a fav of mine as well. Never considered making a substitute. I don’t know the gluten free bread world well and have been sticking to Udis bread because I don’t mind it toasted. Any suggestions? I can’t have cream and when I worked in a kitchen for… ug 17 years, we made bread pudding but changed it up with sprinking cinn and sugar on top and sprinkling dried cranberries before baking. And then for the sauce used fresh lemon juice, lemon zest, sugar, and corn starch. I’ll have to try this once I get some good bread! 🙂

Comments are closed.