LG Should stand for Let’s Go!

I got myself a new phone.  Bought this one..for free, thanks to Best Buy’s trade-in program.  It’s one of the best phones I’ve ever actually owned and I’ll explain why (and what it is) in just a bit.

Anyway, I looked at my phone on my lunch hour and was inspired to post something that’s been on my mind for a while now:  Why are phone manufacturers clueless about the people that buy their phones?

I say they’re “clueless” because, while shopping for a new phone, the salespeople bombarded me with statements like, “thinnest phone”, “sleek aluminum shell”, Facebook OS, and “many color options”.  I went for the phone that offered something that the others didn’t…performance and stamina.

I don’t care what the outside of the phone is made of as long as the phone is lightweight.  Over 75% of all smartphone users buy a case or cover for their phone, so why are phone manufacturers putting so much effort into designing “cool” phone exteriors?  No one will see it!  LG and Samsung have gotten the idea and designed their phones with a plastic or resin shell.  You get one or two color choices, but you also get more actual phone than the manufacturers that dump money into metal shells (I’m looking at you APPLE and HTC).  To me, a good case is worth every penny and I don’t even really care what that looks like, but I’d imagine some people do.  The only one I don’t really like is Otterbox because the damn cases make phones look like and weigh as much as a small car.

I’ve also got a beef with this new Facebook phone OS.  People already spend enough time on Facebook.  Why do we need a constant stream of what our friends are up to at our desks, at home, and now everywhere we go?  Are we really that lonely that we always need to live our lives through our friends food and concert posts?  It’s sick.  Use your phone’s Facebook app or go online.  You don’t need it fed to you.  Personally, I can’t see the point of constantly feeding information.  Windows Phones are excluded because it’s MINOR (pics of contacts update, a news blurb may come in, but you still need to go to apps to find more).

I’m not a person that listens to music or watches hours of TV on my phone either.  I’d imagine that if I took the bus in the morning, I may want to stream news or something, but it’s not on my mind these days.  I also don’t play video games on my phone.  I feel if your Xbox or PS3 can’t fulfill your gaming urges, you need a 12 step program.  I have a few piddly games like Angry Birds and stuff for Olivia and I to play when bored, but I don’t play the “pay” games and I can’t see the point.  What would really help me listen to music on my phone is the ability to wirelessly (via WiFi) sync my Itunes to my phone’s music player.  Apple’s inability to offer cloud stored music and the ability to do a once a week sync of my playlists on Itunes. I don’t want to stream anything without WiFi..but I WOULD listen to music if I could sync it wirelessly.

So you’re probably wondering what the most important thing I seek out in my phones is.  Battery life.  If it can’t last from sun up to sundown without a charge, I won’t use it.  I don’t care if it’s at 5% before I plug it in at night..it HAS TO last all day.  The trouble with newer smartphones is that all of those little bells and whistles on the phones (Blink Feed, S Beam, Siri, location services, etc.,) drain the battery faster than you can say 4GLTE.

The first phone I looked at this time around was the Galaxy S4, but two different salespeople said it can drain quickly.  Same thing for the HTC One and the HTC First.  I tried the Galaxy S3 and that had me charging twice a day with moderate use.  The Samsung OS upgrade came and I was charging three times a day.  Frustrating, to say the least.  The phone I finally discovered was the LG Optimus G.

xy

Before this phone, the only LG experience I had was a horrid three day experience with their 3D phone several years back, before 4G was mainstream.  The phone was so bloated with OS widgets and “features” that the battery lasted about 6 hours.  I took the phone back and got something with a better battery.  Fast forward to modern day and LG has realized that more and more phone owners want a battery life to match the phone’s performance.  After all, what good is an Android Jelly Bean OS without the battery life to truly use it’s features?

The phone is thin too, and looks nice inside of a case.  Out of the case is fine, but in the case is what counts.  I don’t want to feel like I am carrying around a concrete block.  I got a Body Glove case with the phone and it keeps the phone slim and protected.  The 4.7” phone screen is a True HD screen and it has Corning Gorilla Glass on the front, but I took the extra step and put a Zagg Shield on it.  I like to keep my phones looking like new to get the best trade in value.

It has a 1.5Ghz Qualcomm Quad Core processor and can really keep up with my multitasking.  With Qslide, I can split the screen for better multitasking too! I can write blog posts while tweeting and taking a picture if I want and it never lags.  The camera is only an 8mp, but it’s a good one.  Pictures are clear even in lower light.  It even uses NFC and has a beam feature like the Galaxy S to share wirelessly.  The best part?  I use this phone constantly and am left with 20-35% battery at the end of the day.  LG’s Optimus G far exceeds my battery life expectations.

Middle of the day and I still have a good battery life.

Middle of the day and I still have a good battery life.

It may not have the billion gimmicky widgets, but it doesn’t need them.  This phone truly is a performer in its own right.  Other phones, you are on notice…Lg Optimus G is one hell of a phone to compete with.

Aaaaaaaaapps.

Aaaaaaaaapps.

