They can’t all be winners..

So you may have seen more product reviews here in the past few months, and while I love doing them, I occasionally come across one that doesn’t work out the way it should.  This is one of those times.

I’d hoped to give a shining review of “Ice Cream Magic”, a personal ice cream maker for all ages, but it just didn’t live up to the expectations.

I squealed with glee at the thought of homemade ice cream...really..

I squealed with glee at the thought of homemade ice cream…really..

It comes with an outer cone, a freezing bowl, a lid, and a little spoon and cap.  The instructions even include a recipe guide that has non-dairy options!  Just looking at it, I was so excited to try it out.  It’s also easy to make.  It’s a matter of mixing the ingredients, adding ice and salt to the bottom cone, then placing the mixing bowl on top and shaking it.  The idea is that the salt will super cool the ice and freeze the ingredients in the bowl while you shake it.  The first issue is actually the mixing bowl itself.  It’s TINY.  To get a family size portion, you’ll need about 18 of these going at one time (for a family of 4).

I mixed up the ingredients for the first batch, a vanilla ice cream made with coconut milk.  I followed the recipe step by step and shook the container for the recommended time.  When the time had passed, I opened the mixing bowl and….

I had soup.

I read through the instructions again and noticed a little piece that recommends making sure the ingredients are SUPER cold.  Well, if I knew that, I’d have just gone out and bought ice cream.  I don’t want to half freeze everything first.  Giving them the benefit of the doubt, I tried making sure the ingredients were super cold (popped into freezer for an hour), and I tried again.  Shook for 4 minutes…Soup part 2.  I then froze the mixing bowl with the ingredients in it and was finally successful.

Ice Cream Magic is a great idea, and I don’t know if my model was defective in any way, but it simply didn’t work the way I had hoped.  I’d gladly try again, but right now, my arms are tired from all of that shaking.  It was like a dessert themed Shake Weight.

