Which train?

Anonymous wrote:

I need some help. 

A few weeks ago, my wife and I had both of our parents staying with us while our newborn daughter got baptized.  During the post baptism reception/dinner, her parents asked what we were going to do to save for our daughter’s college.  My wife and I hadn’t thought of it yet, but before we could respond, they suggested making some investments and using that to pay for the college bills.  My parents, who are anti-Wall Street chimed in and advised against it.  The two groups ended up having a huge debate about it and left at the weekend’s end in a huff.

My wife and I don’t know what to do here.  Do we tell one parent set they’re right and risk upsetting the other?   Do we do nothing?

Anonymous

Anonymous,
From what you wrote, it looks like you and your wife are on the same team and I applaud that.  You don’t have an easy task ahead and staying united in your approach is the best option.

As far as what to do, I’d talk to your wife and do whatever you two feel is best for you and your daughter’s future, then let your parents know that you appreciate their advice, but you two have made a decision that is best for YOUR family.  You don’t have to tell them what was decided and they don’t have to like it. They just need to deal with it.

Everyone has advice to give their family and friends. Sometimes it is handy, and sometimes it isn’t.  Take what you want from what you’re given and silently throw the rest out.  At the end of the day, you need to make your own choices.

Sean

