Last Rights.

Anonymous wrote…

Sean,

My mother passed away a short time ago and my sister and I realized she specified cremation in her will.  I am of the Christian religious belief that a body should be buried, not burned.  My sister says we should honor our mother’s wishes.  What do you think?

Anonymous

Anonymous,
First of all, I am sorry for your loss. 

Also (and I assume you knew this), your sister is right.

Unless it is a danger to someone, we have no right to go against someone else’s funeral wishes when they pass away.  It may not be something you enjoy or believe in, but you should honor them by honoring their wishes.

What do you have against cremation? If you’re a Christian, it is stated in the Bible that a soul leaves the body upon death.  A burning of bones (or a body) was frowned upon in several verses but only if the bones were left unburied.  If you’re cremating and burying or scattering ashes, you’re following the Genesis 3:19 “Ashes to Ashes, dust to dust..” verse.

In any event, follow your mother’s wishes. 

Sean

